You are currently viewing 2022 Publication Awards Call for Nominations

2022 Publication Awards Call for Nominations

The SESAH Publication Awards honor outstanding scholarship on the architecture of the South, or by authors who reside in the South (defined as SESAH member states: Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, and Virginia) at the time of publication. Four categories of publication are recognized:

    • Best Book
    • Best Journal Article (all articles published in Arris, the SESAH journal, are automaticallynominated if the regional criteria are met)
    • Best Essay in an Edited Volume
    • Best Guidebook for Architecture in the Southeast

Criteria for consideration include the publication’s contribution to scholarship, as measured by the potential impact on the field through the author(s) methodological approach and analysis; breadth of research and resources; and quality of production, particularly in the illustrations and photographs selected. All entries should be well-written, and each should be an original and thorough piece of scholarship. The copyright for entries should be no earlier than 2020.

The deadline for nominations is June 1, 2022. Winners will be contacted via email and then officially recognized at the SESAH annual conference in Memphis, TN, November 2-5, 2022. Nominations should include: 1) an email message with full bibliographic information of the publication, 2) if the nomination is for an article or an essay, a PDF version should be attached; if the nomination is a book, please include publisher contact information. The chair of the Publication Awards committee will arrange delivery of hard copies to committee members.

Please send all emails to the Publication Awards Committee Chair: Nathaniel Robert Walker
Art & Architectural History Department
The College of Charleston

For a PDF version of this Call for Nominations, please click the image below.