2018 Best of the South: Preserving Southern Architecture Award

(scroll down for CFN for Publication Awards)

The Southeast Chapter of the Society of Architectural Historians (SESAH) seeks nominations for the Best of the South: Preserving Southern Architecture Award(s). These annual awards honor projects that document, preserve, rehabilitate, restore, or educate the public about a historic property – including a building, a structure, or a complex of buildings and/or structures – in an outstanding manner and that demonstrate excellence in research, design, and execution. Projects with a public interpretation component are encouraged, but not required. Projects in the twelve-state SESAH region – Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, and Virginia – that were completed in 2016 or 2017 are eligible.

Criteria for consideration:

  • Quality of the project documentation, research, education, and/or design plan;
  • Importance of the property type within its particular context (national, regional, state, local);
  • Quality of execution;
  • Anticipated benefits; and
  • Degree to which the project saved a historic property from likely demolition.

Nominations should consist of no more than two pages of project description and be accompanied by illustrations and any other supporting material, including a project budget and timeline. A cover letter should identify the owner of the property, the historic and current use of the property, and the names and contact information of all the major participants of the project (including email addresses).

Email the nomination as a single PDF or as a link to a single PDF posted on Google Drive/Dropbox to the 2018 Best of the South Award committee chairperson, Lydia Mattice Brandt at

Deadline: July 1, 2018.

The 2018 Best of the South Award winner will be announced at the 2018 SESAH Annual Meeting held in Manhattan, Kansas, October 3-6.

For more information, visit

View last year’s winner here.

2018 Publication Awards

SESAH invites nominations for the 2018 Publication Awards. The SESAH Awards honor outstanding scholarship about the architecture of the South or by authors who reside in the South (defined as SESAH member states). Three categories of publication are recognized: books, journal articles, and essays published in edited volumes. The Publications Awards also recognize the category of guidebooks that increase knowledge and awareness of architecture in the southeast region.

The copyright for all four categories should be no earlier than 2016. Please email full bibliographic information of your nomination to the Chair of the Publication Awards Committee.  Self nominations are welcome.

Criteria for consideration include the publication’s contribution to scholarship, as measured by the potential impact on the field through the author(s) methodological approach and analysis; breadth of research and resources; and quality of production, particularly in the illustrations and photographs selected. All entries should be well-written, and each should be an original and thorough piece of scholarship. Articles in ARRIS are automatically considered eligible, or nominated for consideration by the committee, if the subject and author criteria are met.

If you have access to a pdf version of the article or essay, please send it to the Chair of the committee. If you are the author of a book, please ask your publisher to send a copy of the book to each committee member, and notify the Chair of the Committee that you have requested that copies be sent.  The Chair will follow up with the publisher.

The deadline for submissions or nominations is July 15, 2018.

The members of the 2018 Publication Awards Committee are:

Stephen James
Curator, Architecture and Planning Collections
University of Houston Libraries
4333 University Drive
Houston, TX 77204-2000

Katherine J. Wheeler
University of Miami School of Architecture
1223 Dickinson Drive
Coral Gables, FL 33146

Avigail Sachs
College of Architecture and Design
University of Tennessee
1715 Volunteer Boulevard
Knoxville, TN 37996-2400

The nominated publications should represent outstanding scholarly contributions about the architecture of the South or by authors who reside in the South (defined as SESAH member states).