The Southeast Chapter of the Society of Architectural Historians (SESAH) is a regional chapter of the national Society of Architectural Historians and includes twelve states – Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, and Virginia. Our members come from throughout the U.S., but are primarily based in the Southeast region. All are welcome.

SESAH was founded in Atlanta in 1983 as a five-state regional chapter of SAH. The territory quickly grew to nine states by 1986 and eleven states by 1991. Texas joined in 2005, creating the current twelve-state region. SESAH was formally incorporated as a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization in Arkansas in 1992 and currently maintains financial offices in Tennessee and archives at The Georgia Institute of Technology in Atlanta.

Marion S. Moffett and Lawrence Wodehouse, of the University of Tennessee, launched our annual journal, ARRIS, in 1989. The Savannah College of Art and Design in Georgia designs and publishes ARRIS today.

The SESAH website is hosted in Iowa and our e-newsletter is produced in Florida and South Carolina.

Close Menu